Singapore Masters Betting Guide

The annual Singapore Masters golf tournament, held at the Laguna National Golf & Country Club in March, is one of the most prestigious and highly anticipated events on the Asian Tour calendar. This site has all the information on 2008 Singapore Masters betting, history, the golf course and more.

The Singapore Masters tournament is co-sanctioned by the European Tour and the Asian Tour and is one of many of the European Tour events that were established in East Asia in the early 1990s. Since its inauguration in 2001, the 7 207-yard award-winning Masters Course at Laguna National Golf & Country Club, which was sculpted by Andy Dye, has seen the title scooped up by such golfing luminaries as Colin Montgomerie and Vijay Singh.

With the event being held at one of the premier golfing venues in Singapore, the golf betting public will be hard pressed to pick a winner from a field featuring more than 200 professional golfers from around the world.

The Singapore Masters has regularly attracted the top players that the golfing world has to offer, and with a prize purse of over US$1 million up for grabs, the 2008 Singapore Masters golf tournament will not be any different.

Favourites don’t always live up to their odds. In 2003, Zhang Lian-Wei became the first player from the People’s Republic of China to win on the European Tour when he clinched victory from the world number two Ernie Els on the final hole. In an event fast becoming known for its upsets, what does the Singapore Masters hold in store?

Singapore Masters Betting

With the Singapore Masters still a few months away, you would be hard pressed to find a favourite for the 2008 event to bet on. The usual suspects will be there, yet with a strong field teeing off on an elegant yet challenging course, anything can happen.

With previous events at the Laguna National Golf & Country Club hosting the likes of Lee Westwood, Ian Woosnam, Thaworn Wiratchant and Darren Clarke, one thing is for sure – the golf will be of the highest standard.

One of the biggest names in golf, Fijian Vijay Singh was the winner of the inaugural title in 2001, when the exciting tournament was played on the Bukit Course at the Singapore Island Country Club.